Take the Chances You’re Afraid to Take

When I came to the decision that I didn’t want to do much with my English degree, I was at a loss of what to do. The only thing I could think to do was use it to make me look more legit as a freelance editor and tutor. Yet, I didn’t want freelance to be my sole source of income considering that it isn’t stable enough to provide me with a decent living. This isn’t to say studying English has been a waste. It certainly hasn’t been. After all, studying English has bettered me as a novelist. The program has also nurtured my mind and sharpened my critical thinking skills. And these are applicable to life itself.

Then I thought about just coasting with the job I currently have–you know, just seeing where it takes me. But it turns out there’s not much I want to do in marketing, short of using my marketing skills to help brand me as an author and fitness professional.

Let’s back up a little bit though.

Before I even entered college, I wanted to pursue zoology; however, the intense math terrified me, and so I shied away from that. That’s when I looked into journalism. Well, it turns out that I’m not that interested in running around town, finding stories. I’m more of a blogging-type person. Then I looked into editing for a major publisher. Editing can be fun, but it is, in fact, a huge headache. I’d also have to move to New York and take on an unpaid internship for an indeterminate amount of time. Last, I checked out teaching. The education program shined a very negative light on education’s current situation. Job shadowing also left me bored to tears, particularly when the teachers put so much emphasis on teaching to the test. And don’t get me started on all of that paperwork.

Throughout this time, I began to accumulate some regret over not pursuing a science-type degree. My love for astronomy bloomed when I took an astronomy class, and I told myself that if I ever won the lottery, I’d definitely go back and major in astronomy. My reason for this used to be that even if I kept failing my math classes, I’d be able to pay to re-take them without ever relying on financial aid.

What a silly thought process.

galaxy
Big Andromeda galaxy (M31)” by gianni

I’ve always had an innate love of science, particularly of the biology variety. I want to say that I do regret not having taken any chances with a degree in zoology, but if I hadn’t shied away from these things, then I don’t think I would have found personal training, which combines several loves of mine–science, teaching, helping, and writing. What I do regret, however, is not taking chances sooner.

I really wish I could remember the name of an article I read a few months ago about how it’s unrealistic for many people to chase their dreams. The crux of the article states that many people are raised being told to go after their dreams. When the time comes to do this, many are sorely disappointed by the realization that they are either not capable of achieving their dreams, their dreams don’t pay enough, or they do not have the means to chase those dreams. In a way, I can see this perspective because our brains are all wired differently. Someone is always going to be better at something than you are, no matter how much you practice. Yet, I still disagree with the basic crux of the argument that not everyone can chase after their dreams.

I’ve had many dreams throughout my life, some that I have accomplished and some that I have changed. I have always had a dream to be a published author, ever since I was in the second grade. That dream did come true, and while it’s not in the way I expected, I’m still published, my book is out on the market, and so I have plenty of time to be discovered. Four and a half years ago, when the ballet bug bit me, I had a dream of going en pointe within a year–and I got en pointe within ten months. I also began to dream about performing in a recital, which also came true.

My dream now is to find a job as a personal trainer. I’ve already succeeded in passing both the personal trainer and group fitness tests. Then once I find a job as a trainer, my clients’ dreams will become my dreams. And I will keep on dreaming and dreaming and dreaming. I dream of being a bestselling author one day, too.

I’m happy I found personal training as a viable career option for me. I’m happy that I myself paid for the entire thing, from the CPT certification to the functional training to the group fitness. I have paid for it all and have been able to pay it all off.

I know money holds back a lot of people from achieving what they want. I, however, decided to use my credit card to make the first payment on my certification. I also used it for functional training. Perhaps I’m lucky because I don’t have a crap ton of stuff to pay for, but even if I weren’t, and even if I were still paying everything off, I would have still taken the chance.

I just got tired of not taking chances, of letting my fears and insecurities hold me back. I’m a creative type who needs to be in a career she is going to have a passion for. Personal training is definitely something I see myself holding a lifelong passion for. I love the continual growth that occurs throughout the career. I love that you are always, always, always going to be learning something. I love that you get to work with individuals who are always going to surprise you in a variety of ways that keep your days fulfilling. Most of all, I love that you can make a difference in people’s lives.

For those of you at a loss of what to do, take those chances you’re afraid to take. Don’t settle for “good enough” because someone told you that you’re better off taking the path of least resistance because there’s “security” and “safety” in that. Taking the path of much resistance may make your future uncertain, but dreams aren’t given. Dreams are earned. Don’t live your life believing that you’ll just have to settle on a job that can simply pay the bills. If it’s true that we only live once, don’t waste your life.

Everyone deserves to accomplish greatness. Do whatever you have to do to achieve it.

Leave a Reply

