Fitness Goals for 2016

I accomplished a lot of fitness-related goals in 2015, and I have plenty more for 2016. I don’t want to consider these resolutions, either. After all, these are ongoing goals that I do want to accomplish this year, but, at the same time, I don’t want to necessarily put a timeline to them. After all, anything can happen during the year that may halt my progress on a particular goal.

Here are my fitness goals:

  1. Attend ballet more regularly. I’ll admit that I got a little lazy when the fall term for ballet started up, and I kind of just went to class once a week like around the last two months of 2015. Part of my laziness had to do with the repetitive, easy barre being used as a warm-up for the girls’ Nutcracker rehearsals. Another reason was that work was really dragging me down, and so I was less enthusiastic about, well, everything. But I’m going to change that now because dance class has never put me in a bad mood. So I’ll be attending twice a week. Hopefully, I’ll be present during the summer since it’s only morning classes.
  2. Get a job! I haven’t started searching for a job yet because I’m waiting to take my group fitness instructor exam next Friday. (The cert was on sale, so how could I pass it up?) Once I pass the test, then I’m going to start searching for a job at a gym–and there are many, many options where I live. I’m both excited and nervous. I’m excited because this is my dream career, and I’m nervous because I just want to quickly start this job and not have to play the irritating waiting game that makes job hunting so nerve-wracking for me.
  3. Pure Barre. Since teaching ballet anywhere requires years and years of study of the dance (I have five under my belt so far!), being able to teach a Pure Barre class is the next best thing. My goal isn’t necessarily to get certified this year. My goal is to take enough classes to familiarize myself with Pure Barre–and do some Youtube videos–and then to find some sort of certification program with a workshop close to where I live. I don’t want to have to drive out-of-state for one. Heck…I don’t even want to have to drive to Atlanta for one, but I will if I have to.
  4. Burn, burn, burn. First off, I am totally about health versus aesthetics, but I’d still like to burn some fat so I can REALLY show off these ballet muscles I’ve been working so hard on. I’m not going to push this one too hard, though. All I’m doing is eating a lot more fruits and veggies and incorporating some HITT workouts when I’m not at ballet or don’t feel like driving all the way to the gym. So it’s a goal, but I’m not going to stress out about it since I don’t need to lose weight anyway.
  5. Get back en pointe. Okay, so I do have to get new pointe shoes before considering this, but I fell on my left ankle back in October. I didn’t sprain it, but I did damage something. I also struggle with my left foot since it sickles a lot. I had surgery on it last year to remove a piece of bone, and even though it’s much stronger now than it was when I went into surgery, I still struggle with it. My dance teacher recommended I not dance en pointe until I correct the issue, so my goal is to get back en pointe when I get some new shoes.

So what are some of your fitness goals?

 

 

*”Ballet Shoes” by Kryziz Bonny

One thought on “Fitness Goals for 2016

Leave a Reply

