Eating Healthy While on Holiday

Currently I’m in Austin, Texas right now with my fiance visiting his sister and younger brother. I’m going to tell you straight up that it’s hard to eat healthy when you’re on vacation, particularly if you’re in a house FULL of junk food and people who primarily want to eat pizza. I’m telling you, I’m really struggling here. However, I’m making do.

I have my choice of tons of junk food in this house, ranging from Snickers to chips to pizza to brownies…it’s never-ending. But there are healthy options around here, like nuts, which are both nutrition and calorie-dense, and some pieces of fruit. Of course, if you’re trapped in a situation where healthy options aren’t always available, I have some tips for you. You might be wondering why you should bother with healthy eating while you’re on a trip, but you don’t want to gain a few extra pounds, which is super easy to do.

  1. Stop somewhere and stock up on snacks. Vacations are all about snacking and eating out. Before leaving on vacation, stock up on fruit cups, nuts, some healthy juice smoothies, maybe some dried fruit, and anything else you can keep on you while you’re on the go–particularly if you’re at an amusement park.
  2. Choose healthy options. Vacations also involve loads of eating out. To me, it’s okay if you have the unhealthy option every once in a while, but if you’re stuck going to a fast food restaurant, see if they have some healthy salad choices available, because, well, salads appear to the only healthy things at fast food restaurants.
  3. Don’t blow money on junk food. It’s temping to want to blow money on snacks as you’re out and about, but don’t do this. People tend to eat A LOT while on vacation, and they don’t necessarily need to. Just be mindful of what you’re eating; only eat when you’re hungry.
  4. Walk if off. I’m going to be the first to tell you that I have no plans of doing a workout while I’m in Texas. However, I do plan to do lots of walking, so while you’re on vacation, try to choose activities that keep you active. I think it’s just as important to take a vacation from your workout as it is your job. Both, after all, can cause burnout.
  5. Don’t let pressure get to you. If you’re visiting family, some might pressure you to just let go and have a few slices of pizza or whatever. Some will tell you that you’re on vacation and it’s okay to pig out. Yeah, I think it’s fine to do it once, but you don’t want to do it every single day. So don’t let the pressure get to you. Tell them you enjoy healthy foods much more than junk foods. Personally, I think an apple tastes WAY better than a slice of pizza any day.

 

*Image from Denise Cross Photography

Leave a Reply

